Electric Vehicle Charging

Berger EV charging

The Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors approved an Electric Vehicle (EV) user fee for all the County’s charging stations. Prior to this decision, EV charging was free for all users at all County charging locations.
The user fee was officially implemented on June 5th, 2020 in accordance to the rate chart below: 


​First 3 hours

​$0.20/kWh while charging

​4th hour and subsequent hours (after 3 hours)

$0.20/kWh if vehicle is still charging plus $0.083/minute overstay fee ($5/hr)​

​Maximum overstay fee


Reminders and Important Updates Regarding Parking Enforcement and Citations: 

Energy Fee:  The energy fee of $0.20/kWh will only be applied when a vehicle is actually charging and will be discontinued when a vehicle is fully charged or unplugged.

Overstay Fee:  The overstay fee of $5/hour is prorated by the minute and will only go into effect after a vehicle has been plugged in for 3 consecutive hours. Additionally, EV users will receive a notification 15 minutes prior to when the overstay fee goes into effect (at 2 hours and 45 minutes).

Parking Requirements:  

  1. The user fees apply to all County employees and the general public; only County Fleet vehicles are exempt.
  2. Only electric vehicles (EVs) and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs) can occupy an EV station parking stall.
  3. Vehicles must be plugged in at all times to avoid receiving a citation.
  4. EVs and PHEVs can back into an EV charging station stall so long as they are within the boundaries of one parking stall.
  5. The 4-hour parking limit has been removed. Instead, the overstay fee of $5/hour will go into effect beginning after 3 hours of charging.

EV Chargers at County Facilities

EV user fees will be applied to the following County facilities:



Ports (#)

Station Status​

Station Type

Civic Center  ​950 N. San Pedro Street, San Jose ​12 ​Active ​Level II
Civic Center  ​70 W. Hedding Street, San Jose ​4 ​Active ​Level II
Fleet Operations Center ​2265 Junction Avenue, San Jose ​18 ​Active Level II
Downtown Clinic 
​777 E. Santa Clara Street, San Jose ​16 ​Active ​Level II
VMC at Bascom  ​751 S. Bascom Avenue, San Jose & 2220 Moorpark Avenue, San Jose ​28 ​Active ​Level II
Sheriff's Headquarters ​55 W. Younger Avenue, San Jose 6 ​Active ​Level II
Berger 1553 Berger Drive, San Jose ​18 ​Active ​Level II
Julian Campus  ​373 W. Julian Street, San Jose ​26 ​Active ​Level II
Civic Center Parking Garage  ​171 W. Hedding Street, San Jose ​20 ​Active Level II
Holden Ranch ​19050 Malaguerra Avenue, Morgan Hill ​5 Active ​Level II
Charcot  ​2310 N. First Street, San Jose ​19 ​Active Level II
​Civic Center ​807 N. First Street, San Jose ​4 ​Active  ​Level II
​Tasman ​150 Tasman Avenue, San Jose ​80 ​Active ​Level II
​South County Fleet Yard ​13555 Diessner Avenue, San Martin ​20 ​Active ​Level II
​Animal Services Center ​80 Highland Avenue, San Martin ​6 ​Active ​Level II
​VHC Gilroy ​7475 Camino Arroyo, Gilroy ​22 ​Active ​Level II
TOTAL​   304    

All users must register and have an account with ChargePoint in order to utilize the EV charging stations. For detailed instructions on how to use a charging station, please refer to this video provided by ChargePoint.

©2021 County of Santa Clara. All rights reserved.